School Briefs

May 15, 2019

Simmons, Kennedy, and Gahagan seek reelection to school board

Mukilteo School Board President Michael Simmons and School Board members Kyle Kennedy and John Gahagan are seeking reelection in 2019.

The three School Board members filed paperwork with Snohomish County elections on Monday.

Simmons, who holds District 1, was first elected in 2011 and was reelected in 2015. Kennedy, District 3 is in his first term, having been elected in 2015.

Gahagan, District 5, was appointed to the School Board in October 2011, and was elected to fill the two-year unexpired term in November 2013. He was reelected for a four-year term in 2015.

Judy Schwab and Shaun Olsen won elections in 2017, and aren’t up for reelection until 2021.

No challengers have filed for Districts 1, 3, or 5 as of Tuesday afternoon.



Superintendent gets contract extension

Mukilteo Superintendent Marci Larsen’s contract for was extended an additional year. Larsen’s three-year contract now covers the period through June 2022. Larsen has been the Mukilteo School District’s superintendent since 2003. She started her career as a special education teacher in the Edmonds School District, an elementary school principal in the Snoqualmie Valley School District, a central office administrator in the South Kitsap School District, and was the executive director of teaching and learning in the Mukilteo School District before becoming its superintendent in 2003.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.