Education association awards 4 scholarships

Jun 19, 2013

The Mukilteo Education Association has awarded four $1,000 scholarships to Mukilteo School District seniors to help them fund their post-secondary education.

Itzel Medina, from Mariner High School, received the Brad Agerup Memorial Scholarship; Joseph Davis, from Kamiak High School, received the Lois Jamieson Scholarship; Zachary Houghtaling, from Kamiak, received the Mukilteo Education Association Scholarship; and Larisa Hockert, from ACES High School, has been awarded the Joanne Brennan Memorial Scholarship.

The MEA annually offers four scholarships to qualified students from ACES, Kamiak or Mariner high schools. Three of these awards were named for longtime MEA members and district employees.

Lois Jamieson, Joanne Brennan and Brad Agerup were dedicated Mukilteo School District educators, known for their commitment to and caring for their students. MEA honors the memory of their lives and work though these scholarships.

For more information about MEA scholarships, go to

-Edited by Beacon staff


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.