Electroimpact named aerospace company of year

By Sara Bruestle | Feb 26, 2014

Mukilteo-based Electroimpact is the Pacific Northwest Aerospace Alliance’s Aerospace Company of the Year.

The company was honored on Feb. 5 at the 13th annual PNAA Aerospace Conference in Lynnwood.

Electroimpact was chosen for its "unique style of operation, cutting edge tooling and for bringing bold ideas to fruition," according to the Pacific Northwest Aerospace Alliance.

"The company has worked to improve our industry through legislation, education, training and community service. Electroimpact's philanthropic generosity has benefitted STEM, FIRST Robotics and the aerospace industry as a whole.”

Electroimpact is a manufacturer of tooling for aircraft assembly.

The company has more than 600 employees in the U.S. and abroad, with offices in the U.K. and Australia. More than 450 employees are right here in Mukilteo at its headquarters on Chennault Beach Road.

Peter Zieve founded Electroimpact in 1986 after he earned his doctorate in mechanical engineering from the University of Washington. He is the CEO of the company.

Zieve has watched his company grow over 27 years to become the largest integrator of aircraft assembly lines in the world.

“We knew we were doing something exciting,” Zieve said. “But the world didn’t see the excitement. Now that we’ve grown, now you too can see the excitement that we’ve always had.”

Back in 1986, Electroimpact had just one machinist and two machines in a University Village office. It was mainly a supplier of machine tools to Boeing Co.

Today, its customer base has expanded to include Airbus, Kawasaki Heavy Industries, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Fuji Heavy Industries, Spirit Aerospace, Vought, Northrop-Grumman, Israeli Aircraft Industries and Xi’an Aircraft of China, among others.

PNAA Chairman JC Hall presented the award to Electroimpact at the aerospace conference held Feb. 4-6.

“Electroimpact has worked to improve the aerospace industry under the visionary leadership of company founder Peter Zieve, who believes in removing all barriers from his engineers,” Hall said.

“Zieve’s unique leadership style allows his engineers to drive the design, manufacturing, installation and service of the technology they create – keeping them at the forefront of aerospace innovation.”

The Aerospace Company of the Year was one of five aerospace industry excellence awards given out by the aerospace alliance, which promotes the growth and success of the industry in the Pacific Northwest.

Here are the other awards:

Aerospace Executive of the Year: Jon Buccola, CEO of Greenpoint Technologies, Kirkland

Inspire Award: Silicon Forest Electronics, Vancouver

Chairman Award: Linda Lanham of the Aerospace Futures Alliance of Washington

Chairman Award: Larry Sowa of Human Strategies Consulting, Seattle.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.