Kamiak PTO awards $6,000 in scholarships

Jun 05, 2013
Courtesy of: Kamiak High School PTO The Kamiak High School PTO scholarship winners are: (back row) Peter Lux, Christopher Hines, Zachary Houghtaling, Elizabeth Gross, Jennifer Shin, Ryan Bradford, Victoria Sonnenburg, (front row) Amanda Dahl, Emma Turgeon, MacKenzie Gaddy, Blair Burns. Not pictured: Andrew Weyers.

The Kamiak High School Parent Teacher Organization presented 12 seniors with $500 scholarships on May 29 at Kamiak's Senior Recognition Night.

The scholarships are to help the students as they pursue their educations beyond high school, whether at a four-year university, a two-year college or a technical school. Additionally, the PTO is providing a grant of $6,000 to Kamiak High School, to support and improve teaching and learning.

"Our main focus each year is to raise funds for scholarships and school-wide grants,” Kamiak PTO President Rick Simon said. “It's always a lot of fun to give this money away.”

To learn more about the Kamiak PTO, visit www.kamiakpto.com.

-Edited by Beacon staff



Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.