Mayor’s team wins Mukilteo’s Amazing Race

By Sara Bruestle | Jul 20, 2016
Photo by: Sara Bruestle Sisters Anne and Jennifer Gregerson were the fastest to finish the first-ever Amazing Race Mukilteo held on July 16.

It doesn’t have to be a political race for the mayor to get competitive: Her team won the first-ever Amazing Race Mukilteo.

Sisters Jennifer and Anne Gregerson were the fastest of 27 teams to finish the race on July 16 around Mukilteo.

“We had a great time,” Jennifer Gregerson said. “It was really challenging and really fun. It was also a chance to spend some time with my sister.”

The Amazing Race is the signature event of the Next Generation: Mukilteo, the Chamber of Commerce’s new young professionals group.

The Pika-Muks (Jennifer and Anne Gregerson) won the race with a time of 49 minutes and 12 seconds.

The C Gals (Crystalyn Burke and Chris Don) finished in second place with a time of 56:24, followed by The Marines (former Mayor Joe and Jamie Marine) in third place with a time of 1:00.36.

The Amazing Race Mukilteo, inspired by CBS’s reality TV show “The Amazing Race,” had teams of two race to be the fastest at finishing six legs around the city.

In the Mukilteo race, teams were timed at how fast they finished each leg, not at how fast they got from location to location. The three fastest teams won prizes.

Just like in the TV show, teams had to figure out clues to find each challenge.

The challenges included rolling out a pie crust at Sydney’s Bakery & Wine Bar, climbing the rock wall at Traxx, a scavenger hunt in Japanese Gulch, sinking putts at the Harbour Pointe Golf Club, making and flying a paper plane at the Future of Flight, and a history test at the Mukilteo lighthouse.

The Gregerson sisters had competed in a similar race in Edmonds in 2010 – The Great Edmonds Adventure – but were nowhere near the fastest time.

“We’re in better shape,” Anne Gregerson said. “We could go all out on this one.”

The two met every challenge as a team: As the mayor climbed the 24-foot-tall rock wall at Traxx, her sister helped her navigate by telling her where to next place her hands and feet.

“I had never done that before,” Jennifer Gregerson said. “When I got to the top, I was freaking out a little bit, but I did it. Anne encouraged me as I got a ways up.”

At the Future of Flight, Anne Gregerson took the lead. A second grade teacher at Sherwood Elementary in Edmonds, she had the skills to make a paper airplane and fly it into a bucket. When Jennifer’s airplane wasn’t flying well, Anne showed her how to fix it.

“The airplane challenge was the easiest for me,” she said. “I thought, ‘I can do this! This is second grade science!’”

The Harbour Pointe Golf Club challenge was their favorite because the mayor got a hole-in-one on her first try. She had been given 15 golf balls, but only needed the one.

Jennifer had looked up putting tips on her smartphone as Anne drove them to the golf course.

“One of the tips was to hit the ball harder than you think,” she said. “When I hit it, I thought it was way too hard, but it went right in. It was crazy.”

As the winners of the Amazing Race, the Gregerson sisters won the $250 grand prize.

“I’m a pretty competitive person, so it feels really good to win,” Anne Gregerson said. “To take first out of 27 teams? Wow, what an accomplishment. I’ve never won a race before.”

No matter if they won or lost, they said it was nice to have some “sister time.”

“It was just fun to get out there with Jen,” Anne Gregerson said. “We didn’t have to win. I have a baby, and she’s really busy with city stuff, so we don’t see each other a lot.”

Next Generation: Mukilteo is for young professionals and the “young at heart” who work for a business in the greater Mukilteo area.

The group was formed this year to host monthly events, such as after-hours socials, local adventures or field trips, career-focused workshops, and community service projects.

Its mission is to offer members inspiration, continuing education, networking, support and camaraderie throughout their careers.

See the race results for all 27 Amazing Race teams at

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.