Mukilteo Little League wins state softball crown

Championship is first-ever at 10U level for Mukilteo
Jul 17, 2019
Courtesy of: Brook Kirk Norton The Mukilteo Little League 10U all-star softball team celebrates winning the Washington State Little League championship Thursday, July 11, at Lynndale Park in Lynnwood. Mukilteo defeated Redmond 12-0 in the title game.

The Mukilteo Little League 10U all-star softball team scored five runs in the top of the first inning and then went on to defeat Redmond 12-0 in the Washington State Little League championship game Thursday, July 11, at Lynndale Park in Lynnwood.

The state title was the first ever for Mukilteo Little League at the 10U level.

In a first-round contest, Mukilteo beat South Hill (Puyallup) 8-2 before prevailing 8-2 over Cascade to advance to the semifinals. Mukilteo then posted a 4-0 victory over Redmond, who later battled back from the semifinal loss to move on to the championship game. Mukilteo limited Redmond to only one hit in six innings in the finals.

Pitcher Nichelle Adams recorded a combined 33 strikeouts in the semifinal and final games. All 18 outs in the championship game came via strikeout.

Catcher Haylee Osborn threw out eight base runners attempting to steal during the district and state tournaments. Mukilteo allowed an average of only 1 run per game during its 9-game run to a state title. The team ended up with 81 stolen bases. Leading the charge was Hayden Downer, who had 18 steals.

In the field Mia Semith, Lexi Johnson, Riley Karabach, Ashtyn McClure, Haylee Osborn and Nichelle Adams all played errorless ball. Pitcher Ashtyn McClure struck out 28 batters in 11 innings and finished the all-star season with a 2-0 record.

“My hat goes off to this group of amazing young ladies and our wonderful coaching staff. The coaches developed a rather advanced game plan for this level and the players quickly absorbed and executed the plan,” Mukilteo manager Larry Downer said. “We talked a lot about being intentional during this run, and what that means on and off the field. I couldn’t be prouder of this group of girls and what they accomplished. They came to every practice and every game focused, giving 110 percent. I am proud to be a part of the Mukilteo Little League organization and my role in building a quality softball program here. What an amazing experience for us all.”

The Mukilteo 10U all-stars are: Nichelle Adams, Maddy Barrett, Kenzie Barrington, Hayden Downer, Pricilla Hansen, Lexi Johnson, Riley Karabach, Liyla Kirk, Marin Lugibihl, Teya Maldonado, Ashtyn McClure, Haylee Osborn, Mia Semith and Jayleen Syharath.

The manager is Larry Downer and the coaches are Sumeet Adams, Raul Maldonado and Jeff Hansen.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.