Nominations open for Mukilteo Citizen of the Year

Mar 14, 2018

Do you know someone who makes Mukilteo a better place? Someone who is community-minded and loves this small town?

Well it’s that time of year again to find the newest Mukilteo Citizen of the Year.

See the form for nominating someone for this award, which can be found in this issue, and future issues, of the Mukilteo Beacon. Include a letter/letters for why your nominee is deserving of this award.

The selection committee is made up of past Citizen of the Year winners, and is sponsored by the Mukilteo Kiwanis Club.

Nominees must be:

  • A current Mukilteo resident.
  • Non-political
  • Not a paid promoter for the city.


Recipients of the award receive no cash prize or titular duties, but will be honored with a ceremony hosted by the Harbor Pointe Retirement Center, and will be a guest of honor in the Lighthouse Festival parade and will be recognized by the Mukilteo Historical Society and presented a plaque from Mayor Jennifer Gregerson.

The winner’s name will also be added to the larger plaque located in the Rosehill Community Center, which contains the names of all past award winners.

The Taylor family has received this recognition four times, with brothers Dick and Ed Taylor being co-Citizen of the Year in 1979, Ed’s son Tim receiving the award in 2004 and Tim’s wife Pam was the most recent Mukilteo Citizen of the Year in 2017.

The Brown family has also been well represented with Lois Bellman-Brown being awarded in 1995, her husband Bruce was awarded in 2002 and their daughter Debra was the 2016 Citizen of the Year.

Nominations can be emailed or mailed to the addresses below by May 31.

Kiwanis Club of Mukilteo, Attn. Tim Taylor, PO Box 1553, Mukilteo, WA 98275 or

If you have any questions, email Tim Taylor at or call 425-330-0399.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.