Primary results are certified

By Brandon Gustafson | Aug 21, 2019

We pretty much knew the outcomes, but it’s now officially official as to who will be advancing to the general election in November.

The primary took place Aug. 6, and results were certified Aug. 20.

Mukilteo voters had a wide array of important decisions to make, with four City Council races and a County Council race all appearing on the ballot, as well as a School Board Seat, and a Water and Wastewater Commissioner seat.


County Council

The County race had eight vying for two spots in the general election. Current County Councilmember Brian Sullivan, a former Mukilteo Mayor, represents Mukilteo in District 2, but is term limited. Among the eight vying for his seat were Mukilteo Mayor Jennifer Gregerson, Mukilteo Council Vice President Anna Rohrbough, and Mukilteo resident Louis Harris. Rohrbough, the lone Republican in the field of eight, easily advanced to November with 34.63 percent. It appeared at first that Gregerson would be her opponent, as she was sitting in second place when the first results came through, but Everett’s Megan Dunn gained on her and took the lead, and will advance to the general election after earning 13.43 percent. Gregerson earned 12.49.


City Council

Each of the four City Council races on the ballot had three candidates, thus, they all appeared on the primary ballot.

In Position 4, current councilmembers Richard Emery (51.4) and Scott Whelpley (37.58) advanced past challenger Charles Eakins (10.7).

In the Position 5 race, which was the tightest three-person race of the four, Christopher Maddux (37.02) and Riaz Khan (35.23) beat James Yoo (27.41) for the top two spots.

In Position 6, Elisabeth Crawford (55.64) and Peter Zieve (32.24) easily advanced past challenger Exekiel Aranez (11.99) to earn a place on November’s ballot.

In Position 7, former mayor Joe Marine earned roughly tow-thirds of the vote (64.95 percent) to advance. He will be joined by Kristina Melnichenko (18.94) who beat Tina Over (15.9)



Other races

In the race for Mukilteo Water and Wastewater Commissioner Position 1, Jeff Clarke (62.79) and Troylyn Goldsberry (21.22) beat John Reis for a place on the November ballot.

In the Mukilteo School District District 3 race, incumbent Kyle Kennedy (46.94) earned just one more vote than the second place finisher, Jen Cole (46.93). In third place was Keashia Garner.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.