School Briefs

Jun 20, 2018

Kamiak’s musical receives two 5th Avenue Awards

Kamiak’s performance of Spamalot won Outstanding Choreography and Outstanding Costume Design at the 2018 5th Avenue High School Musical Awards held on Monday. The play was nominated for a total of eight awards in several categories and received four honorable mentions. Congratulations to the Kamiak drama students and to everyone who helped to make this year’s spring musical such a success.

Congratulatons and best wishes to retirees

A total of 44 Mukilteo School District employees have announced their retirement or have retired since this time last year. All of them deserve a big thank you for their years of service to the students in our community. By work location, this year’s retirees are: Shirley Tune, ACES. Laurie Laursen and Donna Rice, Challenger. Myrna Gladheart, Columbia. Pamela McReynolds, Discovery. Joyce Deutsch and Donna Quale, Explorer. Janet Owen, Helen Sayes, and Nalini Sood, Fairmount. Doug Montzingo, Harbour Pointe. Judy Bush, Horizon. William Ardissono, Wendy Britt, Mike Gallagher, Vibeke Iozzi, Margo Morse, and Jeff Tobin, Kamiak. Jerrie Engelhardt and Laurie Gipson, Mariner. Yvonne Malland, Mukilteo Elementary. Dorene Dabir and Judy Lloyd, Olivia Park. Linda VenEman and Debbie Whitley, Pathfinder. Vicki Jensen, Picnic Point. Brenda Thorsen, Picnic Point and Odyssey. School Bus Drivers: Shelley Brickel, John Hobbie, Frank Lewis, and Robin Peckham. … Judy Ching and Mirella Reeves, Serene Lake. Kathleen Cass, Tom Clemans, Debra Freal, and Judith Rosas, Sno-Isle TECH Skills Center. Rita Nolan, Special Education. Gwen Fraley and Sharon Hawes, Technology. Brian Radabaugh, Teaching and Learning Center. Norma Holliday, Voyager.


Staff members reach career milestones

The following employees are receiving service pins this year for at least 25 years with the Mukilteo School District: 40 Years: John McGuirk (Mariner). 35 years: Marla Gross (Columbia). 30 Years: Lois Beckman (Mukilteo), Bruce Calico (Fairmount), Laurel Cornell (Mukilteo), Anita Fletcher-Harris (Kamiak), Paula Horton (Lake Stickney), Steven Hudson (Maintenance), Marlene Johnson (Skills Center), Ann Jordan (Serene Lake), Kathy Lasater (Challenger), Pat Marsters (District Office), Janet Owen (Fairmount), and Jeff Tobin (Kamiak). 25 Years: Debra Bachofner (Harbour Pointe), Dave Bailey (Kamiak), Jon Baker (Mariner), Cheryl Boze (Pathfinder), Sally Cassidy (Explorer), Michael Collord (Explorer), Leslie Dodson (Picnic Point), Lisa Emerling (Lake Stickney), Michelle Hammons (Kamiak), Nancy Duck-Jefferson (Kamiak), Vicki Jensen (Picnic Point), Jan Lamb (Kamiak), Denice Larson (Voyager), Patricia Lawrence (Harbour Pointe), Kirsten Lewis (Harbour Pointe), Judy Lloyd (Olivia Park), Billie McDugle (Transportation), Christine O'Connell (Kamiak), Maria Oehling (Harbour Pointe), Erin Quinn (Harbour Pointe), Neva Redmond (District Office), Scott Reinecke (Olympic View), Stephen Smith (Olympic View), Wendy Smith (Olympic View), and Sandie Vea (Mariner).


Free summer food service for children

The school district will offer free meals at six sites during the summer as part of the Summer Food Program for Children, which is funded through the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Meals will be made available at no charge to all children 18 years of age and younger. The meals will be provided at the following locations at the listed times:

Challenger – Breakfast: 8 a.m. to 9 a.m. and Lunch: 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.; Monday through Friday, July 9 to August 3.

Horizon – Breakfast: 10:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. and Lunch: 2:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.; Monday through Friday, July 9 to August 17.

Voyager – Breakfast: 8 a.m. to 9 a.m. and Lunch: 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.; Monday through Friday, July 9 to Aug. 17.

Sno-Isle TECH Skills Center – Breakfast: 9 a.m. to 9:45 a.m. and Lunch: 11:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m.; Monday through Friday, June 25 to July 16.

Walter Hall Park – (Soccer Camp) Breakfast: 8 a.m. to 9 a.m. and Lunch: 11:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.; Tuesday through Friday, June 26 to June 28.

Kasch Park – (Soccer Camp) Breakfast: 8:30 a.m. to 9 a.m. and Lunch: Noon to 12:30 p.m.; Monday and Tuesday, July 2 and 3…(Baseball Camp) Breakfast: 8 a.m. to 9 a.m. and Lunch: 11:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.; Tuesday through Friday, July 31 through Aug. 3.


Know someone looking for work?

Tell them that the Mukilteo School District is looking for school bus drivers. It’s an especially great job for retirees or stay-at-home parents who love children and like to drive. Applicants must have at least five years of experience as a driver of a passenger car and have a clean driving record. Paid training is provided. Summer training class will start on July 24. Starting pay for those hired will be $22.91 per hour. Apply online at If you have questions, please call 425-356-1396.


Mukilteo students make Dean’s and President’s lists

Mukilteo students are thriving in the classrooms at their respective colleges.

The following students have earned top marks at their universities and are on their school’s Dean’s List, President’s List, or Honor Roll.

Eastern Washington University: Timothy Beard, Madison Duskin, Peter Matson, Chandler Wesson, Steven Wilcox.

Gonzaga: Alison Cantarano, Ceilidh Hamill, Joshua Holcomb, Camilla Holeman, George Kunthara, Haley Lasley, Brandon Wright, Marci Zainwel.

Hamilton College in Clinton, N.Y.: Kayla M. Self.

Montana State University-- Steven Bucy, Nathan Goodwin, Jordan Hall, Josephine Maley, Josey Ugrin, Corbin Wheeler, Mikayla Wood.

Seattle Pacific University: Jordan Bettencourt, Joanna Dickinson, Kara Eckley, Paige Goetz, Keenan Haugen, Sydney Jackson, Hugo Lam, Lynne Onishi.

University of Wisconsin-River Falls: Max Doner.

Washington State University: Jae Won Ahn, Laura Ashley Bate, Alyssa Marie Bathurst, Kylie Rae Bush, Arianna Kveven Calvin, Kaitlyn Ashley Chesley, Kiera Amanda Clubb, Curtis R. Cohen, Jill Marie Davidson, Christian Keau Francisco, Sean M. Healy, Paula R. Kimmerling, Alexandra Beatrice King, Adam Christopher Merkle, Tuanette Nguyen, Taylor James Sexton, Will David Shriver, Elizabeth Anne Swanson, Brendan Thomas Tate, Olivia Danielle Taylor, Ryan Philip Torelli, Jimmy Zheng.

Western Washington University: Helen Grace Anderson.

Whitworth University: Danielle Openiano.


MEA and district meet again over salaries

The Mukilteo Education Association and the Mukilteo School District met Monday, June 18 to discuss potential salary increases as a result of the McCleary ruling.

According to MEA President Dana Wiebe, the meeting was successful in MEA’s eyes.

“It was a productive session that has us moving in a positive direction,” Wiebe said. “In addition to discussing legislative changes, both parties continued to work toward a mutually agreeable salary schedule that incorporates the changes from McCleary.”

Wiebe said the two sides will meet again Thursday, June 21.




Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.